Assault and Battery
Navigating the complexities of California assault laws in the penal code can be extremely complicated. There are several different classifications of assault under the California penal code, each with its own definition and unique potential sentence. Depending on who the alleged victim is in an assault and battery case will have a direct impact on how your case is charged and prosecuted. If it is a child or a spouse who is the alleged victim of physical abuse, you can be rest assured that the district attorney’s office will prosecute the case with a vengence.
A battery charge can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the severity of the act. In addition to a felony battery charge there are even more severe enhancements that prosecutors like to use. Great bodily injury (GBI) charge is a considered a “strike”. You want to avoid this charge/enhancement at all cost.
Simple Assault – Laws & Penalties
Simple assault is a misdemeanor and defined as an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another. This means that no injury or even contact has to have taken place for this offense to have occurred.
This misdemeanor offense can carry a sentence of up to $1,000 in fines and jail time of up to 6 months.
Simple Assault – California Penal Code Section 240-241
Simple Battery - Laws & Penalties
Simple battery can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, a determination that is made by the judge. It is defined as any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon another person.
This offense has a potential sentence of up to $2,000 and jail time up to 6 months.
Simple Battery California Penal Code Section 242-243
Assault with a Deadly Weapon - Laws & Penalties
Assault with a deadly weapon, other than a firearm, is considered a felony in the states of California. It is punishable by up to 4 years in state prison and fines up to $10,000.
You may be charged with this serious felony if the court believes you assaulted another person with a deadly weapon other than a firearm in a manner likely to produce great bodily harm,
Assault with a Deadly Weapon (not a firearm)California Penal Code Section 245
Assault with a Firearm
Unlike “assault with a deadly weapon”, assault with a firearm does not have to be committed “in a manner likely to produce bodily harm”. The mere possession of the firearm in the commission of an assault is enough to elevate the potential sentence in this crime.
This offense is also a felony that carries a potential $10,000 fine and 4 year prison term.
Assault with a Firearm: California Penal Code Section 244
Contact THE LAW OFFICES OF ARCHER & ASSOCIATES for a free case evaluation for help in determining what you are up against, and what we can to do help you.
Recent Assault And Battery Case Results
- Client with two previous strikes was involved in a fist fight with two other individuals. Client was alleged to have caused significant injuries to the two combatants. GBI enhancements were added to the 2 counts of 243 (d). At the time of the altercation, client had 2 strikes and had served a prison term. Client was looking at 2 more felony charges each with strike allegations giving him a total of 4strikes.
- Client was looking at possible life sentence if convicted. Final disposition: 180 days straight time county jail and 4 years probation.
- Bar manager was charged with P.C. 245 (a)(1), a felony, with GBI (Great Bodily Injury) for allegedly hitting a drunken patron over the head with a glass severely lacerating the patronís head. The prosecution was offering a five (5) year prison term. After extensive investigation and several witness declarations obtained by our office we were able to have the felony charge dismissed and the GBI enhancement withdrawn. Final Disposition: client plead to one (1) misdemeanor count of 245 (a)(1) and received summary probation. No Jail!
- Stepson was alleged to have attacked stepfather over a domestic dispute. Stepfather wanted stepson prosecuted. Charges were filed: P.C. 243(e)(1), a misdemeanor. Our office was able to obtain a final disposition of the case for an INFRACTION. No Jail, no 52 week anger management program and no probation! Only a $100.00 fine.
- Husband and wife while driving allegedly were engaged in a physical altercation. Both pressed charges against the other. D.A. filed misdemeanor battery charges on both parties. Our office was able to have the case DISMISSED against our client.
- Client was charged with striking a combatant in the head at a party with a beer bottle. When the police arrived, they used a stun gun twice to stop our client from continuing on with the altercation. Our client was charged with P.C. 245(a)(1) w/ GBI and P.C. 148 (a)(1). Our office obtained a final disposition for a 245 misdemeanor and summary probation. No Jail!
- Client was riding his dirt bike when he was approached by undercover peace offices and told to pull over and stop. Client allegedly did not heed his order. A chase ensued whereby the peace office crashed his dirt bike into our clientís dirt bike causing them both to crash and fall to the ground. Our client got back on his bike and a second chase ensued. More than 3 peace officer vehicles were involved in the chase which lasted approximately 20 minutes. Our client got stuck in the mud and his dirt bike stalled. He was charged with multiple counts of felony P.C. 148, trespass, driving a dirt bike in an unsafe manner and on public roads without a license. Final Disposition: One misdemeanor count of P.C. 148. Four other counts were dismissed. No Jail!